My name is Justine, born and raised in France. I moved to Hong Kong 9 years ago and to Lamma Island 4 years ago, right when I started paddling. My wife got me into dragonboating at first and that is how I met the local paddling community. Not long after, I tried surfski for the first time in the summer of 2020 and was instantly hooked. A few months later, I bought my first oc1. This sport has kept me happy and sane during the tough years of isolation related to Covid. Now that the borders have reopened, I can’t wait to explore paddling internationally.

Justine's Instagram






Lamma Island, Hong Kong


The Steelcase Dragon Run in Hong Kong


Lamma in the Northerlies - Mallorca in the summer


The Gorge Downwind Champs 2023

ICF Canoe Ocean Racing World Championship in Perth, Australia

On the bucket list South Africa, Hawai, Brazil and hopefully a race in France some time soon too


How did you find your passion for the Ocean?

I spent most of my childhood by the sea. My grandparents had a house in Normandy, just a few meters from the beach. Normandy is a special place, the sea can often be rough and intimidating. My dad put me on a dinghy at the age of 6. I did windsurfing with him at the age of 10, standing on the board before him, holding the sail. I loved the thrill of speed on the water. Over the years, I did windsurfing, hobie cat, SUP, sea kayak. Today, I can’t imagine living far from the ocean.

What does your ideal day look like?

My ideal day would start early, with a coffee and exercise. I am lucky enough to live by the ocean and to be able to paddle every single day. During racing season, I wake up early, do a stroll over to the beach and train with my training pals. I do endurance and intervals training. When I’m not training for a race, I have fun chasing ferries.

What do you do when you are not on the water?

I am in charge of the operations for a company called Reset Carbon, a mission-driven company specialised in carbon footprint reduction. I changed career path recently to pivot into the sustainability field. I feel very lucky to be able to dedicate my career for a cause I believe in, which is the protection of the environment. Besides work, I love spending most of my spare time on Lamma island, a little corner of paradise that I call home for 4 years now. I love hiking, spending time with my wife, my dogs and my friends, even better with a good beer and good food.

What’s your favourite memory on the water?

Hard to pick a favourite but I would say that competing in the open category in the OC6 Lamma Outrigger team in the ATIR 2022 is one of my proudest achievement. We arrived second in an incredible final sprint.